Cleveland Ethnic Eats 8th Edition

The 8th edition of this popular dining guide introduces a world of exotic cuisines—right here in our own backyard! These 356 authentic ethnic restaurants and markets (from more than 50 different countries and cultures) are recommended by the experts: Cleveland’s ethnic citizens themselves. Laura Taxel found out where they go for an authentic meal; her book shares those delicious discoveries. Detailed listings tell what you’ll find when you go, from menu items and specialties to prices, hours, ambiance, attire, and parking.

Available April 2009 at all Cleveland-area bookstores, and online from Amazon.com, or grayco.com.

10 Comments

Filed under The Book

10 responses to “Cleveland Ethnic Eats 8th Edition

  1. Hi Laura,

    I just got a copy of your book – received from Cleveland Metromix. I’m really enjoying it, but I’m surprised you left out one of my favorite restaurants – La Pita Express. The food is incredible, and cheaper than Aladdin’s:

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/la-pita-express-lakewood

    • Glad you like the book. I don’t know about La Pita Express. Tell me more.

      • Here’s some more info about La Pita:

        “An even newer eatery on 13615 Detroit Avenue is La Pita Express (216) 221-9925, a Lebanese carry-out restaurant. Literally, you can get a sandwich in five minutes for $3.50. I first tried the chicken shawarma rolled up in a pita with seasoned tender chicken and the veggies of my choice. It was delicious! I then tried the falafel upon recommendation (thanks Brian) and it was to die for. I also tried the beef shawarma that my husband and children absolutely love. This beef and chicken are seasoned and slow-cooked on a rotissererie for hours. It was the best pita roll I ever had. My husband I went back several times and we enjoyed the lentil soup and my favorite, stuffed grape leaves. If you are looking for a quick lunch or a quick, fulfilling dinner, at an affordable price, try La Pita Express. Sorry no credit cards.”
        Note: This description of La Pita Express is excerpted from “The Secret Shopper,” by Justine Cooper that appeared in the Lakewood Observer. http://lakewoodobserver.com/read/opinion/columns/secret-shopper/secret-shopper-cravings

  2. Patti K.

    Thank you so much for this book. For your next edition, I highly recommend including Shinano, a Japanese restaurant that recently reopened in Solon. I’ve lived in Japan for three years, and this is the most authentic Japanese restaurant that I have found. Their shioyaki of various fish, and ginger pork remind me of the best homestyle Japanese meals I’ve had. Their menu includes not only the expected sushi, but also drinks such as ramune that you can normally only get in Japan.

    http://cleveland.citysearch.com/review/8027384

    • Glad to hear from you. I really value your recommendationas it comes from real knowledge of Japanese cuisine. Shinano was in earlier editions of the book but I didn’t know they had relocated to Solon when I was working on the current. I agree with you that their food is authentic-and fantastic- and I will definitely include them next time I update Cleveland Ethnic Eats. Please come back here to post about other Japanese restaurants you visit.

  3. Erin

    Hi Laura–

    We’re getting ready to do our family reunion bacon fry this year and have been on the search for good, fatty, rind-on Hungarian bacon. For the past two years, we’ve gotten our fix from Kaczur Meats, but called this year to find their phone disconnected. Did a quick Google search and see that there was a fire there in February. Do you have any more info? Will they reopen? Thanks!

    • I hadn’t heard about the fire. How sad. And I don’t knowwhether Kaczur Meats will reopen or not. The only number I have for owner Brad Miller is the one at the store.
      But you might be able to get the bacon you want for your reunion from R & D Sausage Company, 15714 Waterloo Road in Cleveland (page 150 of Cleveland Ethnic Eats). Good luck.

    • This is kind of late but Dohar’s Meats in the Westside Market sells eveything you could need.

  4. Stuart

    I just bought a copy of the book too. It’s very nicely done.

    I wanted to mention a few places that might be worth adding to a future edition.

    The first thing is – Barberton Chicken. It’s unique to NE Ohio as far as I know. It has Serbian roots, so it’s certainly ethnic.

    I prefer Belgrade Gardens, but Hopocan Gardens, Whitehouse and Milich’s are good too, and they each have their partisans.

    Next is a restaurant in Medina. It’s called Main Street Cafe and it’s right on the square. The food is really wonderful here. It isn’t of any one ethnicity, but the whole place exudes “Small Town America.” Does that count? :-) There are a lot of places like this in small towns around Ohio, but this one has the best food IMO. (The chef seems to be very good, and they make everything from scratch.)

    How about Davis Bakery in Woodmere and Warrensville Hts. This is my favorite Deli and bakery in Cleveland.

    I know of a good Korean restaurant too. It’s called Seoul Restaurant and it’s on Pearl just south of Brookpark. I’ve been to the others you list in the book and I prefer this one.

    Thyme the Restaurant in Medina? The food is superb. The cuisine isn’t of any one ethnicity though, so I don’t know if it fits in your book either.

    How about D’Agneses, Tomato Grill, and the Bistro at Hammond Corners? These all have wonderful Italian food. I prefer the food here over any of the other Italian restaurants in town. I prefer D’Agneses because it’s closer than Tomato Grill and is less noisy and crowded than the Bistro. Their menus are almost identical though, and the food is uniformly good.

    There is a new Japanese restaurant in Montrose called Wasabi. The building and decor are very nice. The food is kind of average though.

    There is also a Japanese buffet called Yellowtail in Montrose. The food is also average, but it’s a good place to pig out.

    Just so you know what I’m comparing these to… I consider a place like Shuhei on Chagrin to be superb Japanese food. I don’t feel that either Wasabi or Yellowtail measure up to Shuhei.

    I noticed that you misspelled yuca in several places. You have it as “yucca,” which is something very different. Yuca is a root vegetable that’s a common staple in South America, Africa, and parts of Asia. It’s also called manioc and cassava. It’s what you make tapioca flour out of too. (I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir here.) :-)

    I can only think that some of these places don’t proofread their menus very carefully.

    I like yuca in sancocho. Sancocho is a common soup in South America, and you just put the yuca in it like you’d put turnips or carrots in any other soup.

    Yuca frita is also very good. When done properly, it’s like very light and delicate french fries and is really delicious.

    Paladar Latin Kitchen does not make yuca frita properly. I think maybe they don’t boil it before frying it. It comes out dense and gummy. Bahama Breeze actually does a reasonable job on yuca frita (and on tajadas or fried plantains too).

    Bahama Breeze… should it be included, or do you limit the book to non-chain restaurants?

    I also wanted to recommend a place in Columbus. Not for the book, but if you’re ever in Columbus and want a good ethnic lunch…

    It’s called El Arepazo, and it has Venezuelan and Colombian dishes. The owners, Carlos and Carolina, are wonderful people, and it’s a very nice place to have lunch. The food is quite good, and you’ll be able to try things like Pabellon Criollo that you can’t get anywhere else in Ohio. And yes, they do have arepas. :-)

  5. Stuart

    I just thought of another one. How about N Carolina style BBQ? That certainly fits in the Southern US category.

    I’ve had chopped pork BBQ in a number of places in N Carolina, and really like it. We have a place here in NE Ohio that tries to channel NC BBQ.

    It’s called Old Carolina BBQ Company. They have a location in N Canton, one in Massillon, and now one in Akron.

    It’s not exactly like the BBQ you get in the Tarheel state, but it’s still good. Too bad they don’t have collard greens and peach cobbler though.

    You can get what they call pulled pork BBQ with the “coastal” vinegar sauce. Add some hushpuppies, some brunswick stew, and some succotash. Be sure to get sweet tea too.

    They have BBQ brisket and BBQ ribs too, which aren’t real BBQ, but nobody’s perfect. :-)

Leave a Reply

