Not Delighted

Went to Indian Delight, at 55th and Detroit, Saturday night and the experience fell far short of delightful.  Food, service, and atmosphere all left much to be desired. We showed up at 8:30 and the place was virtually empty with only one other table occupied. There was no one to greet us or seat us, and we waited an uncomfortably long time before a server appeared with menus.  Although the restaurant was the opposite of busy, extremely slow service was a hallmark of the meal every step of the way.  I began to wonder if the guy who was carrying dishes out of the kitchen was also the one cooking them. The pace- it took two hours to get from ordering to paying the bill, and not because we wanted to take our time- gave us ample opportunity to take in the surroundings. The impression was kind of depressing-the walls were beige and mostly bare, the heat insufficient to take the chill off the room, and the silence deafening. Oddly, the table cloth AND the paper placemats were under glass.

There were some interesting appetizers under the heading Bombay Special that I haven’t seen elsewhere. We had some little round hollow puff s of pasty filled with potatoes and onions (tasty but icy cold- not sure if this is how they are meant to be eaten); and samosa chat that was described on the menu as vegetable samosa topped with chick peas and onions, but which turned out to be bits of crumbled samosa mixed with the beans. The lamb biryani was short on meat and had a bitter aftertaste. The chicken korma was okay, nothing special, and basket of assorted naan, which arrived when we were almost done, was a bit greasy. 

I know people have said they’ve had delicous food here. And I’m always willing to accept a less than lovely setting in exchange for fine eating.  But This place has some serious work to do before I’d return or recommend it.  Given the lack of patrons on a Saturday night, I fear the restaurant may not be in business long enough to correct the problems and grow into a destination fro those who love Indian food.

Anyone been here? What do you think?

10 Comments

Filed under Restaurants

10 responses to “Not Delighted

  1. Donna

    I’m disappointed to hear this; my husband and I stopped in on the recommendation of a friend, early on a Saturday evening, and while we were the only people there (since we got there technically before it opened), the food was delicious and the service was just fine. Yes, it’s a little dim and grim, but no more so than the new location for the little restaurant inside the Asia Town Center. I fear Indian Delight is hanging on by a shoestring, which is a shame because the food was really good.

  2. Hi Laura-
    Have you been to Udupi in Parma.
    I crave the Chana Battura they do.

    Hope all is well.

    Ruth

    • Yes I have. And I think the food there is spectacular. Love it. By the way, hoping to come to your place tonight. Haven’t made a reservation. Do you think there’s room at Bistro 185 for four around 7:30, 8?

  3. How disappointing! We just carried out from there last week and enjoyed our meal quite a bit (decent samosa, good Chicken Vindaloo and Rogan Josh, excellent Chicken Mikhani). We have eaten-in as well, and I understand the concerns with decor and atmosphere, although we haven’t had much issue with service when there at lunch.

    While their dishes are good-but-not-spectular, I have always thought their sauces tasted much more fresh than most Indian restaurants. I’m hoping they get the business they need, I like having Indian so close in the Detroit Shoreway.

  4. Stuart

    I don’t know whether or not you’ll want to leave this link to another site posted here, but there’s some discussion of Indian Delight here:

    http://www.yelp.com/topic/cleveland-best-ethic-foods-in-cle

  5. Yamin

    Hi Laura,

    I am the manager at Indian Delight, I thank you for adding the comments on the ethnic foods, I understand that you were not comfortable the day you have been here. I promise that you will feel a difference in the service as well as the ambiance the next time you walk in the door. I am trying my best to get things the way all my customer(s) desire.

Leave a Reply

